A newly installed dormouse box (Chateau Dormouse, as the child who helped make it called it)

What I found at my dormouse site in 2015

I have been meaning for ages to look at how dormice, woodmice and birds used different parts of my site over the course of last year. The burst of energy that spring gives me, and being relatively on top of the gardening, meant I had time on Sunday to play with presenting my data visually. I’ve made a short video to show which boxes were used by what, when.

As you can see, birds dominated the site for the first few months. But quite a few bird nests were subsequently taken over by dormice, once the birds had finished with them. By the end of the year there were an encouraging number of boxes with dormouse nests in.
What do you think of this way of showing the data? What strikes you from it?

It’ll be interesting to look at this year and last year side by side.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.